Those who have vehicles with salvage titles in Georgia and who want to get them on the road again will have to go through the rebuilding process first. This is a relatively straightforward process. However, it is important to pay attention to the details and complete the steps in the correct order.
The state of Georgia requires those who wish to get a rebuilt title for their salvage vehicles to have the vehicle repaired by a licensed rebuilder. According to Georgia’s Department of Revenue, if you plan on restoring or rebuilding a salvage car, you need a rebuilder license. This is one of the pre-conditions for you to apply for a rebuilt title.
Getting the Inspection
In Georgia, after the vehicle has been repaired, it needs to go through an inspection. However, the inspection has to take place before the car is painted. This inspection can only be done by one of the private inspectors or stations that have previously been approved by the Department of Revenue. You can find the full list of State certified salvage inspectors at the following link.
During the inspection process, you need to submit certain signed documents. These include a Request for an Inspection of a Rebuilt Motor Vehicle (From T-22R), in case you are having the car inspected by a private inspection station. If you are using a state inspector, you have to mail this form in before the inspection. You may need to wait for several weeks longer to have the car inspected. But you will avoid paying a fee to a private inspector.
The next in line of the documents is the Tag/Title Application (Form MV-1), Labor and Parts Certification (Form T-129) as well as the original salvage title, assigned to the owner.
Bear in mind that the licensed rebuilder will do the majority of this for you especially the following few steps. These steps are a general requirement when it comes to the rebuild and inspection process. Take photos of the salvage car before the repair process began as well as photos of the repair process itself. File and submit receipts of all the parts used during the repair process. These will show their respective names and stock numbers, the names of the buyer and seller of the parts as well as the vehicle identification number (VIN) of the car the part has come from. You need to file the titles. If you are purchasing spare parts from another state, you have to provide a letter of certification. If you are using a rebuilder, they have to provide a license.
You don’t have to pay a fee to the state inspector. However, using a private inspector comes with a $100 fee.
Once you clear the inspection hurdle, you need to submit the same paperwork you provided to the inspector to the Department of Revenue. Additionally, you have to submit the inspector’s report. You also need to pay a separate $100 state inspection fee and an $18 title fee.
Here’s an additional quick note. You can’t drive the car with a salvage title on the road. So, it has to be towed to the inspection station. If you are using a private inspector, consult the list of state-approved inspectors to see which ones will to come to your location and conduct the inspection there.
- Can I Buy a Flooded Car and Then Fix it to Obtain a Title in Georgia?
- Importing Used or Salvage Vehicles from the United States into Georgia GA
- How do I Insure a Salvage Car from Auto Auction Georgia?
Find information on Rebuilt Title Laws for Other US States. Explore our Vehicle Auctions and Buying With Us.