Flash Auctions
Try out our new feature. Be fast. Save Big!

Car Rebuilding and Title Rules for Minnesota

Date: 10/28/2015 |Category: US States Rebuilt Title Rules

In Minnesota, insurance companies will declare a vehicle to be a total loss if the cost of rebuilding the vehicle is $705 or greater than the fair market value of the vehicle, as determined by the insurance company. When the vehicle is declared a total loss, it will receive a salvage title from the state.

Before you can register the vehicle and drive it on the roadways again, you will need to rebuild the vehicle and pass an inspection.

Rebuilding the Vehicle

After you or a rebuilder gets the vehicle back into operable shape, you need to go through a Minnesota salvaged vehicle inspection before you can get a new title. The inspection needs to be conducted by a Driver and Vehicle Services Inspection Specialist. You can find contact information for the specialists by calling 651-297-2126, or by visiting the DPS website.

When you schedule the inspection, you need to bring along a number of documents, including the salvage title, a completed Declaration of Reconstruction, and the original receipts for the major parts that you used in the rebuilding process.

The Declaration of Reconstruction requires that you fill out the current license plate number of the vehicle and the current title number. It also has spaces for the major components of the vehicle including the body cab, frame chassis, doors, fender, bumper, quarter panel, front end assembly, rear clip, engine, transmission, hood, and roof.

If any of these parts was replaced, you need to include the part number or VIN of the vehicle from which they were obtained, as well as the name and contact information of the person or company you bought them from. Also, you have to detail all of the changes that were made to the vehicle during the repair process.

After going through the inspection process, the Department of Public Safety Drivers and Vehicles Services will determine whether you receive a Prior Salvage title or a Clear Minnesota Title. Not all vehicles will be able to have clear status.

If you are applying to get a clear title, you will need to have your current salvage title, the aforementioned declaration, the passed salvage inspection report, and the receipts of the parts used in the repair of the vehicle, and pay the $35 inspection fee and $10 filing fee.

If the vehicle is branded prior to salvage, it will always retain the salvage designation on the title. If it is not subject to branding, then it will receive the clear title.

When you receive the new title, with either designation, you will then be able to register it and get it on the road again, provided that you get insurance coverage.

Find information on Rebuilt Title Laws for Other US States. Explore our Vehicle Auctions and Buying With Us.

Auto Auction Specialist Used car expert The largest salvage & insurance vehicle auction marketplace online.
Bid on over 200,000 vehicles for sale right now.
1-800-680-8010

Ready to get started?

Register a free user account and start bidding on your dream car right now!

Sign up for free

Unfortunately we are not in the office right now

Let us call you back during our business hours

Thank you!
We will contact you on:

{{cbTime}}am {{cbWeekday}}

{{phoneNumber}}

Ok, got it!
We speak your language:
English, Spanish, Portugeese and Russian
< Back
  • Auction Process
    • Do you offer live bidding?
    • What is the difference between, “auction” car, and a “buy now” car?
    • What is a Reserve Price?
    • What does the bid amount include?
    • How does the auction process work?
  • Deposits and Pre-Bidding
    • Is the security deposit refundable?
    • How do international customers make a deposit in their account?
    • How does the security deposit process work?
    • Can I cancel a bid?
    • Can I inspect vehicles prior to auction?
    • Is automatic bidding or pre-bidding available?
    • What is the total bidding amount?
    • What is a bid in active status?
    • What is a bid in pending status?
    • What is the best way to win an auction?
    • How do I search for a car available at auction?
    • How does the auction process work?
  • Post-Auction and Payments
    • What does a customer need to do to get the title to a vehicle?
    • How do I pick up the car I purchased?
    • Are there storage fees if I cannot pick up my vehicle immediately?
    • Do you Issue Temporary Plates?
    • Can I pay in cash?
    • Are there late payment penalties?
    • What are the payment terms?
    • How do I pay for an auction?
    • What if I fail to may a payment as required?
    • When is the balance due on a purchase?
    • When will I be notified of the results of the auction?
    • Bidding has ended. Is my bid the highest?
    • Why did I receive notice after bidding ended that my bid is no longer the highest?
  • Shipping and Delivery
    • How will it be mailed to me?
    • When will I receive the title?
    • Can I have the title mailed to an address/name different from the address/name on my account?
    • I have an agent working on my behalf can this person pick up my vehicle?
    • Do you offer delivery?
    • When can I pick up a car I have won at auction?
  • Understanding Salvage Titles
    • What is NMVTIS and how is it used?
    • Understanding the salvage title/rebuilt title distinction
    • What are the different types of titles a vehicle may have?
    • I received a different type of title than the one in the description. I received an equivalent title from a different state. Why?
  • User Registration
    • What are the rules regarding new customers and customers not in good standing?
    • Can I just buy one car?
    • I do not have a dealer license; can I bid or buy a car?
    • What information do I need to provide to register?
    • Do I have to pay to register?
    • Do I need to register to bid?