Missouri
What is Salvage title? US States Rebuilt Title Rules

Rebuilding and Transfer Rules of Titling a Car in Missouri. What is Missouri title application for?

By Mike Richards Updated: 05/23/2019 Posted: 10/28/2015

At Missouri auto auction a lot of vehicles that have been labeled with a salvage title do not necessarily have to go to the scrap heap. Even though the insurance companies might have totaled the car and declared it as a loss, there could still be plenty of miles left in the vehicle, and those who choose to buy a salvage title, or to keep a vehicle that has been totaled, can always choose to rebuild it to make it roadworthy once again.

However, there is a detailed set of steps that you will need to take to make that happen, and it all starts with repairing the vehicle. Process of titling a car in Missouri has own specific and a lot of paperwork. How to register a car in Missouri with new title?

Getting the Repairs and an Inspection

After you have a salvage certificate of title assigned to you and you rebuild the vehicle to make it safe to drive on the road, you will need to get a vehicle exam that is conducted by the Missouri State Highway Patrol. The current fee for the inspection is $25 and a $2.50 processing fee.

You can get the Missouri title application through a license office DMV or through the Motor Vehicle Bureau. After you receive the form, you can make an appointment through one of the authorized agencies to get the inspection.

Part of the application, the Vehicle Examination Certificate (DOR-551), requires a list of the major components and their VINs. You will also need to have notarized bills of sale for all of those parts listed in that section.

After you pass the inspection, you will still need to make sure that you (as driver and owner) have all of the other documentation required for the titling process. This includes the salvage certificate and an odometer disclosure statement if the title doesn’t meet the federal odometer disclosure requirements and the vehicle is less than ten years old.

You also need a bill of sale that shows the purchase price of the vehicle, and Form DOR-108, the Application for Missouri Title.

You must also provide a copy of the front and back of the vehicles from which the major component parts for the vehicle repair were obtained, and provide a $250 processing fee, and the fee for the title. The current fee for a title is $8.50, but you could choose to pay $13.50 for the quick title fee.

Also, you need to make sure you have paid the state and local taxes on the price of the vehicle and parts if they were not previously paid. You have to transfer for a license plate is $7.50 plus an additional $2.50 for the processing fee.

You can mail all of the documents to the Motor Vehicle Bureau, Special Titling Unit, PO Box 2076, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2076.

It is important to make sure that you fill out all of the forms completely and include all of the required documentation to make sure you receive the title without needing to repeat any part of the process.

Find information on Rebuilt Title Laws for Other US States. Explore our Vehicle Auctions and Buying With Us.

Comments