Flash Auctions
Try out our new feature. Be fast. Save Big!

Car Rebuilding and Title Rules for North Carolina

Date: 10/29/2015 |Category: US States Rebuilt Title Rules

In North Carolina, if a vehicle is damaged, and the cost of rebuilding the vehicle would be 75% or more of the fair market value for the vehicle, it can be declared a total loss by the insurance company. This means it will need to have a salvage title, which you can get through the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.

You will need to have the original title certificate, the bill of sale for the vehicle, and the title fees to get the salvage title. If the vehicle that’s being salvaged is six years old or less, you need to have the License & Theft Bureau conduct an antitheft inspection before you can get the title.

Repairing the Vehicle

Just because the vehicle now has the salvage title doesn’t mean it has to go to the scrap heap though. It is possible to get a rebuilt title for the vehicle so you can get it back on the road.

After you complete the repairs for the vehicle, you will need to have another anti-theft inspection. This is to ensure that the vehicle, and none of the parts used in the reconstruction of the vehicle, have been stolen.

If the vehicle is able to pass the inspection, you will have the title mailed to you, and you will be able to get the North Carolina Vehicle Safety Inspection. All vehicles that are less than 35 years old, including rebuilt vehicles, need to go through a safety inspection each year in most counties in North Carolina. This will determine whether the vehicle is safe enough to be on the roads.

Some of the elements inspected include the directional signals, brakes, steering, wipers, and headlights. They will also perform an emissions inspection for vehicles. The only exception to the emissions inspections are those vehicles that are less than three years old and that have fewer than 70,000 miles, models from 1995 or older, diesel vehicles, and vehicles that are licensed under the former rate.

The current fee for the emissions inspection is $30, and the safety inspection fee is $13.60. These may change, so you will want to check the latest fees.

What Counties Require Safety and Emissions Inspections?

The following 48 counties are currently required to have the aforementioned inspections.

  • Alamance
  • Brunswick
  • Buncombe
  • Burke
  • Cabarrus
  • Caldwell
  • Carteret
  • Catawba
  • Chatham
  • Cleveland
  • Craven
  • Cumberland
  • Davidson
  • Durham
  • Edgecombe
  • Forsyth
  • Franklin
  • Gaston
  • Granville
  • Guilford
  • Harnett
  • Haywood
  • Henderson
  • Iredell
  • Johnston
  • Lee
  • Lenoir
  • Lincoln
  • Mecklenburg
  • Moore
  • Nash
  • New Hanover
  • Onslow
  • Orange
  • Pitt
  • Randolph
  • Robeson
  • Rockingham
  • Rowan
  • Rutherford
  • Stanly
  • Stokes
  • Surry
  • Wake
  • Wayne
  • Wilkes
  • Wilson
  • Union

You can visit the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles website to find the latest fees, and to find out where the inspection sites are located in your area.

Find information on Rebuilt Title Laws for Other US States. Explore our Vehicle Auctions and Buying With Us.

Auto Auction Specialist Used car expert The largest salvage & insurance vehicle auction marketplace online.
Bid on over 200,000 vehicles for sale right now.
1-800-680-8010

Ready to get started?

Register a free user account and start bidding on your dream car right now!

Sign up for free

Unfortunately we are not in the office right now

Let us call you back during our business hours

Thank you!
We will contact you on:

{{cbTime}}am {{cbWeekday}}

{{phoneNumber}}

Ok, got it!
We speak your language:
English, Spanish, Portugeese and Russian
< Back
  • Auction Process
    • Do you offer live bidding?
    • What is the difference between, “auction” car, and a “buy now” car?
    • What is a Reserve Price?
    • What does the bid amount include?
    • How does the auction process work?
  • Deposits and Pre-Bidding
    • Is the security deposit refundable?
    • How do international customers make a deposit in their account?
    • How does the security deposit process work?
    • Can I cancel a bid?
    • Can I inspect vehicles prior to auction?
    • Is automatic bidding or pre-bidding available?
    • What is the total bidding amount?
    • What is a bid in active status?
    • What is a bid in pending status?
    • What is the best way to win an auction?
    • How do I search for a car available at auction?
    • How does the auction process work?
  • Post-Auction and Payments
    • What does a customer need to do to get the title to a vehicle?
    • How do I pick up the car I purchased?
    • Are there storage fees if I cannot pick up my vehicle immediately?
    • Do you Issue Temporary Plates?
    • Can I pay in cash?
    • Are there late payment penalties?
    • What are the payment terms?
    • How do I pay for an auction?
    • What if I fail to may a payment as required?
    • When is the balance due on a purchase?
    • When will I be notified of the results of the auction?
    • Bidding has ended. Is my bid the highest?
    • Why did I receive notice after bidding ended that my bid is no longer the highest?
  • Shipping and Delivery
    • How will it be mailed to me?
    • When will I receive the title?
    • Can I have the title mailed to an address/name different from the address/name on my account?
    • I have an agent working on my behalf can this person pick up my vehicle?
    • Do you offer delivery?
    • When can I pick up a car I have won at auction?
  • Understanding Salvage Titles
    • What is NMVTIS and how is it used?
    • Understanding the salvage title/rebuilt title distinction
    • What are the different types of titles a vehicle may have?
    • I received a different type of title than the one in the description. I received an equivalent title from a different state. Why?
  • User Registration
    • What are the rules regarding new customers and customers not in good standing?
    • Can I just buy one car?
    • I do not have a dealer license; can I bid or buy a car?
    • What information do I need to provide to register?
    • Do I have to pay to register?
    • Do I need to register to bid?