cars in Rhode Island
US States Rebuilt Title Rules

Car Rebuilding and Title Rules for Rhode Island

By Mike Richards Posted: 10/29/2015

In Rhode Island, while you can’t drive a salvage vehicle on the road, you can repair the vehicle and get it into roadworthy shape, at which point you could be eligible to get a rebuilt title.

The Salvage Inspection

After you have gone through the process of reconstructing the car and bringing it back into good working shape, you will need to go through a Salvaged Vehicle Inspection.

The first step is to fill out the Application for Salvage inspection. This application requires your name and address, along with the year, make, model, and VIN of the vehicle. It also needs to have the name of the certified rebuilder who brought the vehicle back to shape.

When you fill out the application, make sure you fill it out completely. When you submit the application, you will need to provide a copy of the front and back of the title, copies of all of the receipts for the new and used parts, along with their VIN.

You also have to include photos of the vehicle that show all of the damage, a copy of the work repair order, a copy of the insurance appraisal, and the original salvage inspection certificate.

Include a copy of the bill of sale, and the original completed used parts VIN list. Also include a check or money order to cover the fees, payable to DMV. The current cost of the inspection is $56.50. In addition, they request that you do not staple the papers together.

You can send the paperwork to the Division of Motor Vehicles, Enforcement Office, 600 New London Ave., Cranston, RI 02920.

You will then be able to schedule your inspection appointment. At the appointment, you have to bring all of the original receipts for the new and used parts, along with the salvage title that is properly assigned to you.

Bring along identification as well, such as a Rhode Island license or ID card, and all of the original paperwork for the copies submitted with the application. Make sure the vehicle has been fully restored, and bring photos of the vehicle from before the restoration.

If you do not show up for the appointment, or if you cancel without giving at least 24 hours notice, or if you are rejected at the time of the inspection, you have to reapply and pay the fee again. If you do need to cancel, make sure you do so outside of the 24-hour window. You can do this by calling (401) 462-5736.

Registering the Vehicle

After you pass the inspection, you will receive a rebuilt title for the vehicle. Then you will be able to get the vehicle registered and on the road, if you have insurance coverage. Make sure that you complete all of the paperwork and that the vehicle is in perfect working condition before setting up the inspection appointment so you can minimize any potential problems.

Find information on Rebuilt Title Laws for Other US States. Explore our Vehicle Auctions and Buying With Us.

Comments